Shawn Mendes, Mercy – Single Review

Shawn Mendes has a new single out. It’s called Mercy. Before reading the review, take a listen!

Shawn Peter Raul Mendes is a Canadian singer-songwriter. He attracted a following in 2013 when he began posting song covers on Vine. The following year, he gained the interested of Island Records and Ziggy Chareton, which led to him signing a deal with a record label. Mendes went on to release popular hits Stitches, Something Big, I Know What You Did Last Summer, and more.

First let’s discuss Mendes as an artist. A lot of people compare him to a young Justin Bieber. Young, Candaian singer who started online and managed to catch a break. I agree that they have that in common but I don’t like to compare the two artists. I think they are quite unique. I like Shawn Mendes. I think he is a great singer. He has developed a very powerful voice.  When Stitches came out I thought it was just another catchy song that teenage girls would sing at the top of their lungs for a few months. But the more I listened to it and noticed it getting stuck in my head, the more I grew to not only like his voice but also his emotion. The song that really stood out to me was I Know What You Did Last Summer. That was the first song that I really heard him start to shine. I think the reason I like it so much is because of the emotion behind it. I think Shawn Mendes was able to really shine through the power that the song had. Ever since then I have really be able to hear and see him grow.

I think Shawn Mendes should keep singing songs about how he feels. Whether that’s how he really feels or not, I think he should keep doing it. One thing I like about him is that not all of his power ballads are very slow and depressing songs. He can sing an uptempo song about a girl who left him and you will still feel for him and dance to it at the same time. I really like that and I think he does it well as an artist. Mendes has a small town,  misunderstood teen effect going for him right now and I think he should stick to it. What I hope doesn’t happen is that one day he gets a girlfriend and lets it go to his head and then he turns into a money and fame crazy teenage. If that happens then people can compare him to Justin Bieber.

Now let’s talk about the song. This is a good song. The opening is one of my favorite parts. It starts with a soft hum from Mendes which gets you in the mood. It makes you think “Oooo, something happened. He’s sad.” And I like that. I like how it really states the mood from the beginning. The piano chords in the background are calming and beautiful. When Shawn starts to sing, it feels like everything stops and he is just speaking what is in his heart. And as the rest of the instruments and back up vocals join in, you hear that power I spoke of. That sense of pain. As I listen to the lyrics I am impressed. The words flow together very well. Each line goes along with the one stated. A story is really being told here. I love how the song is just piano, guitar, and drums. I am glad it doesn’t have too many instruments. I think for the message of the song it is vital that the listener is focused on his voice. The production of this song is well done. Shawn’s voice is loud enough that you hear not only every word but every wave of vibrato, every breath he takes, and even the softest hum. The background vocals are an important part of the song but not too overpowering. I love how it gives Shawn a sense of echo behind him. Every detail of the voices work together very well.

My only negative is that there are a few lines here and there that do not rhythm. I know that’s just nit picking but that’s a part of my job as a reviewer. I would also like to see Shawn do an acoustic version of this song. Perhaps just him and a guitar.

All in all, this isn’t your average summer tune. It isn’t super catchy or a rock tune you can jump around to but it hits you right where it matters. This is a great song. Thumbs up to Shawn Mendes and his team.

Shawn’s new album “Illuminate” is scheduled to be released September 23rd. Starting prices include $11.99 at Target, $13.98 at Walmart, and $12.99 on iTunes. Keep an eye out for my review of the album. This song, “Mercy” is $1.99 on iTunes. This is a great song by a great singer who I think will continue to make emotional and soulful music in the future. Keep doing what you’re doing Shawn Mendes. Your song Mercy is def WORTH THE $$$!!!
Guys, thanks again for reading my review. I hope you enjoy Shawn Mendes’ Mercy. As always, let me know what you think. Tomorrow I will be reviewing 2 NEW Fetty Wap songs. Stay tuned tomorrow and find out if they are WORTH THE $$$!!! And as college classes get underway, be sure to have Money Mindedne$$!