Pitch – TV Review

What’s up Guys! Welcome to another TV Review, two in a row just for you guys. As 2016 is coming to an end I am reviewing some of the TV shows that have come out this year. Yesterday I talked about How To Get Away With Murder which is returning Jan. 19th.pitch_keyart_web

Pitch was released Sept. 22nd of this year. This was a highly anticipated TV show this year. Now enters another empowering TV show that stars a young black actress trying to make a name for herself in and out of the studio. Pitch comes on FOX Thursdays. Season 2 just came to an end so let’s talk about it. Talented baseball pitcher Ginny Baker immediately rises to fame when she is called up by the San Diego Padres and becomes the first woman in Major League Baseball. She immediately sets in on the task of proving herself to her teammates, starting with team captain and catcher Mike Lawson. The two share an immediate chemistry, putting Mike in the middle of tensions between the beautiful new player and certain teammates who don’t appreciate a woman out on the mound. Not all of her fellow Padres are so averse to change, with center fielder Blip Sanders providing support through her journey.pitch-2

Let’s start with what I like. First let me say that I was on the edge about watching this show. As a critic, when new things come out there is excitement as well as shear terror. You never know if something is going to be great or just awful. So for me I was worried. A story about a young woman being the first woman to play baseball as opposed to softball was huge. And I was worried that something like this would aid in the degradation of black people as well as women.kyly_bunbury_with_mark-paul_gosselaar_2_tx600

First let me say that I am pleased to say that I enjoy this show. I wouldn’t label it as a drama, mystery, or action. This is just another episode about a young girl trying to find her way while the entire world is watching. This show, to me, is along the lines of a reality TV show. We are seeing how she lives but not from the angle of reality TV. It’s still a drama but there is no petty drama, which I like.pitch-group123_hires21

I like the characters of this show. I like Ginny. I think she is an understandable character at first. I like Lawson. He is the perfect definition of the  cool guy who knows what he is doing and just wants to win ball games. I think production tries to play him as the bad boy but I understand that he is just looking out for her. After a while, Mike and Ginny become great friends. I love their friendship. Friends but also mentor and rookie. I like how he doesn’t let her forget that she is a rookie. Blip is an old friend of hers that really helps her settle into life in the major league. I like that Ginny comes into the show with a friend and someone we can see her develop a friendship with. The character development in this show is really good. No one is rushed. Even though this is a show about Ginny, we get to really dig deep on who everyone is. The only person I didn’t like was her father. I think his character was way overdone. He’s stern yes and he wants the best for his daughter, but really the best for himself. It’s tough to tell. We don’t know his intentions. Her father pushes her way too hard. Let the record also show that her father is only in the first episode. After that we don’t really see how he impacted her. I would have liked to see her father in almost every episode and then in the end finding out why he is so important.

pitch05The characters are the main reason I continue to watch this show but there are some things that I do not like. I do not like the plot behind the show. Each episode has a new plot. There is no continuing story line other than the team trying to win a championship. So the question becomes what is truly to moral of this show? I would have liked to have seen a consistent plot. Example, Avatar the Last Airbender. We all knew that in the end, Aang was going to have to fight the fire lord. That was the end goal which we knew from the beginning. This show has not made it clear what the goal is and without it, it’s just 42 minutes of people talking and playing baseball. There has to be some kind of end goal. I mentioned that I liked Ginny at first. After a few episodes she kind of turns into a jerk. She doesn’t listen to reason and she is the source of all of the problems in this show. I think there are times when she looks weak when she needs to be the strong one. When there are problems within the team, she should be the one to fix them. I would like to see her grow up, a lot more and be the a leader.

pitch_still

As this show is still new there isn’t a lot I can say about it. Pitch is available on Hulu and on the Fox website. If you haven’t seen it but are interested I would recommend Using a Friend’s Log In!!! This is a good show to pass some time. I wouldn’t get a Hulu account just to watch this show nor would I watch it love. But it is worth the time, just not the $$$, not yet anyway.pitch-2016-kylie-bunbury-poster-1038x576

Leave a comment