Fetty Wap – Music Review

I’ll make this review short and to the point.

I have never understood Fetty Wap. I have never understood how he is famous when I personally know dozens of other better singers and rappers than he.

My personal feelings aside, Fetty has released a new single, two in fact. “Make You Feel Good” and “Different Now”.

Willie Maxwell III is an American hip hop artist. Not a sing-song writer, rapper, or anything, just a hip hop artist. Even Wiki knows that Fetty Wap isn’t actually musically inclined. His first song “Trap Queen” took over the American charts (for some reason). And ever since then he has been featured on several songs with artists like Fifth Harmony, Kwabs, Kirko Bangz, and several more. People clearly want to make music with him. I really don’t understand.

First off, I have to beg the question, What is Fetty Wap even saying half the time? If you know, please leave a comment below. IN the music world we have a word called “diction”. It is defined as the style of enunciation in speaking or singing. Fetty Wap clearly doesn’t have it. He mumbles his way through song after song. Most artists grow as they continue to make music but I feel liek Fetty Wap has not. I feel like his music is getting worse and worse. I can’t understand what he is saying.

Second, in an interview, Fetty Wap called himself a rapper and a singer. I strongly disagree with that statement. Fetty Wap cannot sing. The song that proved it to me was “Come My Way.” That song is awful. Fetty Wap cannot sing! At All! If you disagree, leave a comment explaining why and we can duke it out but I highly doubt anyone can give me a justifiable statement. He can’t sing, no matter how “catchy” his songs are, he is not a good artist.

Now that I have made my point (about Fetty not being a good artist) let’s talk about his songs. “Trap Queen” I admit I like. I don’t like his voice, I don’t like the words, and I don’t like the message. But I like how catchy it is. I like the energy it brings to a party. Trap Queen can instantly liven up a room. RGF Island is another song that I like. It’s like as soon as that song comes on, everyone in the room is out of their seats ready to dance and have a good time. I think that’s a good part of being an artist, making people want to dance to your music. Why do you think Dubstep is so popular? Because it comes on and people go crazy to it. There doesn’t have to be words or a singer. People want to feel alive when a song comes on. “Come My Way” is not a good song. Yes, you want to dace to it but Fetty Wap’s voice is just so awful that you can’t look past it.

Different now and Make you feel Good are also not good songs. In these two songs, Fetty Wap loses the only good thing he had going for him. The fact that he had upbeat songs with good instrumentals and made people want to party. Different now and Make you feel good are down-tempo songs that don’t liven up anything. Without that dance factor these just show you as a listener how bad of an artist he is. There is nothing about these songs that make me want to listen to them.

Guys, I am not even going to waste your time. Different now and Make you feel good are NOT WORTH THE $$$!!! It’s not worth your time. The only thing these songs are worth are you Pandora skips.

 

Leave a comment